words kill, words give life

Are you in for a royal pain?

Posted in movies and television by Kaitlin on June 11, 2009

RoyalPains8

Royal Pains, the new USA doctor show, premiered last week. I was uber excited, because I love USA’s original shows especially Psych. Maybe it was my high hopes, but Royal Pains let me down.

It was predictable and at the same time unrealistic. I didn’t like Dr. Hank Lawson. His constant moping about his circumstances while continually turning down large offers of money did not impress me.

But that was the pilot, and I plan on watching again tonight to see if things improve. After all, even Psych’s first episode dragged a little. However, I fear the main problem with the show was not its newness, but the fact that it took itself too seriously.

The show only improved when Hank’s brother was on the scene. Evan is a liar, a social-climber, a womanizer and a schemer — everything Hank is not. But, Evan is a much more lovable character precisely because he knows how ridiculous and rotten he is. This could just be my general love for sidekicks talking, but if tonights episode is anything like the failure of last week, Evan is the only thing that could possibly tempt me to keep watching.

Well, him and the fact that Royal Pains comes on right after Burn Notice. Changing the channel takes so much effort.

Royal Pains is on USA Thursday nights at 10. You can also catch it online at USAnetwork.com.

Tagged with: , , , ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Bridgette said, on June 11, 2009 at 5:45 pm

    haha, so hard to change that channel!
    I haven’t watched, but I’ll take your word for it. I saw a commecial and wasn’t really enticed.
    On a similar note, I really wanna see Nurse Jackie’s episode 2 and next weeks, etc.
    It stinks that we don’t have showtime.
    Ok, I’m rambling.
    Anywho, Great review!

  2. Kaitlin said, on June 11, 2009 at 8:39 pm

    thanks
    I really want to see Nurse Jackie, too.
    Ah, showtime.
    I could buy it on itunes, but I don’t want to just have it on my laptop/ipod. Guess I’ll have to wait until it comes out on dvd just like I do with Dexter 😦


Leave a Reply

