words kill, words give life

time to vent

Posted in diary by Kaitlin on June 18, 2009

When I started interning at SAHMAnswers.com, a blog for stay-at-home moms, I thought, “I’ve got this, it’s easy.” All I did was write a paragraph or two a day and comment on posts.

That was before three more interns joined the fray. Interns who had the knack of getting conversations going in the discussion board. I duly turned in my daily articles until I received emails from the voice on high, “try to get people talking; comment in every discussion forum every day; the discussion boards are really picking up, did you see?” So, I tried, I really did, but discussion boards just aren’t my thing. I was also getting annoyed that my instructional emails included words in ALL CAPS and 🙂 emoticons ;).

It seems they wanted more traffic on the web blog, an understandable goal. I suggested making a facebook or twitter profile and commenting with links on other parenting blogs. I was really hoping they’d latch onto the facebook idea – that’s the kind of networking I’d be down with doing all day. Of course, they want to “exhaust the discussion boards” whatever that means, but I did get the job of blog commenting.

Yay? Finding fifteen different parenting blogs everyday, reading an article and writing a pertinent comment takes up a lot more time than I expected. Oh, well.

Tagged with: ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Bridgette said, on June 20, 2009 at 1:43 pm

    Aww, I’m sorry to hear this K! I hope things get better. They’re missing out on a great writer if all they care about are blog comments and discussion boards!

  2. Kaitlin said, on June 20, 2009 at 5:31 pm

    thanks!


Leave a Reply

