words kill, words give life

cleaning house

Posted in diary by Kaitlin on July 21, 2009

I’ve been cleaning out stuff lately – streamlining by books and my wardrobe – and I’m still far from done. But, it has been a lot more fun than I originally suspected. There is something so freeing about getting rid of a bunch of stuff, especially stuff I’ve known for a while I’d never use or wear or read again. While I’m opening up space, I’m also opening up my mind – clearing my head of clutter.
Don’t go thinking I’m so zen now, though. I’m not just organizing to detox my life. I’m selling the stuff. The clothes go to the local consignment shop and the books to the used bookstore. I was very surprised at how much money I made. Maybe I just have a lot of junk? Anyway, I used the money to get a url, which I haven’t set up yet and to buy a new bathing suit ’cause I’m going to the beach with my cousins this weekend.
As I see it, cleaning out my closet, drawers and shelves is good all around. Besides the added simplicity and money, I also have more room. And you know what that means? Time to go shopping!

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. bridgeb said, on July 21, 2009 at 10:56 pm

    Ooooh girl! Shopping sounds good to me! I’ve got some junk of my own that needs to be sold…
    Can’t wait to see your site and that new suit!


Leave a Reply

