words kill, words give life

Wall Street

Posted in fashion, movies and television by Kaitlin on August 25, 2009

For the final assignment in my American Moderns literature class I had to watch a movie (I know, torturous). I chose Wall Street from the list because it’s kind of a classic and, well, if  I want to do greed, why not try it vicariously first?

Although I was supposed to be noting the theme, plot etc. I couldn’t help but get swept up in the fashion, menswear-wise. The woman’s view of the 80s has been done a lot recently, but what I was left wanting after viewing Wall Street was not the big hair and bigger shoulders, but the slouchy trousers, red suspenders and stiff white collars. Using my fav time vacuum, Looklet, I whipped up my approximation of a feminized Wall Streetite (Wall Streetian?).

Please note: I would have used suspenders, but couldn’t find any, I think this captures the style, regardless. Do I see a briefcase purchase in my future?

Leave a Reply

