words kill, words give life

black tights

Posted in fashion by Kaitlin on August 26, 2009

alexa chung

I wanted black tights to be my new anytime staple. So, what’s the trouble? Well,  wanting to avoid the fashion police, I thought I’d investigate the fashion. I came across some conflicting opinions. Some call summer tights-wearing ridiculous and others go as far as fugly. On the other hand, thecoveted hearts them and Tongue in Chic named them an icon of the week.

Seeing the indecisiveness of the community, I decided to determine my own pros and cons on summer black tights wearing.

Cons: hotter (temp wise) than bare legs, you have to deal with runs, pills etc., and they’re typically fall/winter fare.

Pros: tights make anything classier (especially bike-riding in a skirt),  they’re flattering (slimming, lengthening and good for hiding unsightly paleness or imperfections), Edie Sedgwick loved them, and finally, Zooey Deschanel rocks them in sunny LA (’tis known far and wide she can do no wrong).

What do you think – are black tights a sunshine do or don’t? In my mind, tights definitely win, and I will be wearing them whenever I want. Afterall, a true fashionista doesn’t dress for the weather. If it really bothers you, just think – after September 22, it will be fall.

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Bridgette said, on August 26, 2009 at 4:54 pm

    oh my goa! i’m loving this! fabulous. I say yay. Go for it girl! Like you said, a true fashionista doesn’t let the weather determine her garb. Beauty is pain and fashion is torture sometimes, but what really matters is how damn fine you look! =)

    • Kaitlin said, on August 27, 2009 at 8:24 pm

      you know I got that from you. I prob should have put it in quotes!

  2. Blake said, on August 26, 2009 at 4:58 pm

    Kaitlin…you and Bridget are too funny with your fashion blogging 🙂
    I, for one, am TOTALLY in lust with pairing either black tights or any type of stocking with EVERYTHING…especially under a punky mini or shorts. But, even more than my love for this trend is my love for thermal pants!!! A nice dropped crotch and tapered leg is my fave look right now. Good job with your research 🙂

    • Kaitlin said, on August 27, 2009 at 8:25 pm

      fashion is just too much fun to take completely seriously! I’m glad someone else advocates tights with everything, too. thermal pants, hmm? sounds tres chic.

  3. The Clothes Horse said, on August 26, 2009 at 10:26 pm

    I think rules in fashion (don’ts and all that) don’t make sense. Fashion isn’t about being restricted or being told what to wear. You’re never going to make everyone happy. But as long as you’re comfortable, then it works.

    • Kaitlin said, on August 27, 2009 at 8:27 pm

      I totally agree!

  4. Farrah said, on August 27, 2009 at 12:02 am

    Yup! Reminds me that I soooo need to expand my tights collection 😉

    XO
    http://stylecrumbs.blogspot.com

    • Kaitlin said, on August 27, 2009 at 8:27 pm

      you can never have too many 🙂

  5. Kristan said, on August 28, 2009 at 2:34 pm

    If they’re not too warm, I say do it! I bought a pair (just for $5 from Walmart) and LOVE pairing them with skirts and dresses in winter, but I get way too hot in summer.

    • Kaitlin said, on August 28, 2009 at 4:10 pm

      tights are like the cheapest way to refresh an outfit 🙂

  6. S* said, on August 30, 2009 at 6:22 am

    I don’t care about “fashion rules” as long as I am not wearing white socks in black shoes! 🙂

    I love tights, I just bought a black one with polka dots, a dark purple one and one black one in the “wet” look. I couldn’t wear some of my dresses at work during summer with “naked legs” so tights are always ok! 🙂

    I just found a website where they sell cute printed tights, which would look gorgeous to a black dress…but they are pretty expensive for “just” tights! 😉

    Have a wondeful sunday
    S*

    • Kaitlin said, on August 30, 2009 at 5:27 pm

      those tights sound great.
      don’t forget Audrey wore white socks with all black in funny face and totally rocked it!


Leave a Reply

