words kill, words give life

The Time Traveler’s Wife

Posted in books and stories, movies and television by Kaitlin on August 29, 2009

On a friend’s recommendation, I read Audrey Niffeneger’s debut novel a year ago.The Time Traveler’s Wife is a love story between Clare and Henry, who randomly travels through time because of a genetic abnormality. Although I didn’t know what to expect from this romantic fantasy tale, I loved it’s twisting dark romance and unavoidable eventualities.

Audrey Niffenegger

As I am of any adaptation of a favorite book, I was nervous and excited to see the movie, but the film followed the book closely. I do wish the film spent more time on Henry’s visits to Clare during her childhood  – my favorite part of the book, but I understand the time constraints of the film.

I also missed Clare’s art in the movie. It is mentioned and glimpsed, but largely pushed to the side. As a burgeoning artist myself, it was nice to read about someone making their career in the art world. This also reflected on Niffenegger herself who is not only a writer, but also a talented visual artist, painter and print maker.

Despite these few things, the movie was still infinitely watchable and a love story even a cynic like me can appreciate.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. jeezejulia said, on August 30, 2009 at 12:26 am

    Fantastic! I’m currently reading the book, & can’t wait to see the movie once I’m finished. I can’t wait to get further into the book & read about Clare’s artistic endeavors, as I, too, make art.
    I’ll post my own review once I’m finished if you want to check it out, I’ll mention my art more in the future, too!

    • Kaitlin said, on August 30, 2009 at 5:30 pm

      that sounds great! I’d love to hear another artist’s opinion on the book 🙂

      • jeezejulia said, on August 30, 2009 at 7:12 pm

        excellent!


Leave a Reply

