words kill, words give life

high school movies

Posted in movies and television by Kaitlin on September 7, 2009

Heading back to college has made me nostalgic for the things of high school: lockers, book bags, the cafeteria, the gossip. So instead of packing, I’ve decided to procrastinate with movies. Here are my top five high school movies (counting down for dramatic effect):

5. Bandslam – Before you judge me or totally discount this list of all merit, give Bandslam a chance. It’s like a weirdly funny  indie melded with a feel-good flick without the ambiguous ending or the sap. Mostly though,  it’s all about the music. From greats like David Bowie and The Velvet Underground to newcomers like The Burning Hotels, this film is packed with glorious sound. And all the music is real – the cast played the instruments and sang the songs – no cheating. In a day filled with computer modulated pop stars, that’s enough to get Bandslam on my list.

4. Better Off Dead – Cusack, Cusack, Cusack. I had to have one of his eighties flicks on my list and Better Off Dead won out. Why? Because when you add a heartless girlfriend, a ski race challenge, a girl from France, a guy desparately looking for drugs and completely clueless parents with a slightly suicidal John Cusack, hilarity ensues. Trust me.

3. Pretty Persuasion – This movie shows just how mean high schoolers can be, but it goes beyond the average cruel to other students popularity. In Pretty Persuasion, Kimberly Jones works hard not just to control the school, but to control the world around her. And she succeeds in getting the attention from everyone she wants, except from those she cares about most. Just remember “the devil wears a grey skirt, my friend, and her name is Kimberley Jones.”

2.Ferris Bueller’s Day Off – My favorite of the John Hughes collection. Ferris is the guy we all want to be or date because nothing goes wrong for him, ever. He  has surely inspired millions to stay at home “sick,” (including me) though few can do it as well. To watch Bueller is to believe you can create your own happy ending, no matter how ludicrous. After all, “Only the meek get pinched. The bold survive.”

1. Heathers – If you have not seen Heathers, go watch it right now. I’m serious. When monocle wearing Veronica starts using her genius IQ for forging suicide notes instead of for picking out lipgloss, you know it’s going to be fun. Especially when her boyfriend, J.D., is like the teenage version of Tyler Durden. Heathers is the high school film for those with a horribly wicked sense of humor.

So, that’s my list. Procrastination time is over and I must pack. What do you think? Did I leave any essentials out?

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Vicky Jenkinson said, on September 8, 2009 at 1:56 pm

    Of Course your number 1 would be Heathers…
    You are such a goof, and I mean that with the most love!

    • Kaitlin said, on September 9, 2009 at 7:17 pm

      I don’t know what you’re talking about. Heathers is awesome!

  2. The Clothes Horse said, on September 9, 2009 at 1:45 pm

    Great list. Breakfast Club is a good one too.

    • Kaitlin said, on September 9, 2009 at 7:19 pm

      I really like Breakfast Club too. I almost put it on the list, but I didn’t want it to be completely 80s movies :)!


Leave a Reply

