words kill, words give life

peace and tees

Posted in fashion by Kaitlin on September 21, 2009

Today was the International Day of Peace. My meager effort to celebrate the holiday was to throw on a peace-themed t shirt. Which got me thinking: do message t-shirts, buttons and bags  really make a difference? Or do they make me look like a pretentious jerk? I decided to put my own wardrobe on trial.

Exhibit A:

pro_immigration_is_the_american_way_black_babydoll

I have to admit I mostly have this shirt to irritate people in my hometown. My mom has repeatedly asked me if I would write in “legal” above “immigration.” I said no. Point for pretentiousness.

Exhibit B:

I’ve loved this Laurel Thatcher Ulrich quote since I friend first told me these words of encouragement. This tote cheers me up whenever I fear I’ve royally screwed up (an everyday occurrence). Point for difference-making.

Exhibit C:

Considering Animal Farm, Brave New World, The Diary of Anne Frank and  Uncle Tom’s Cabin have been banned, this is true for many. The button probably makes me look smarter than I am, but it also draws attention to the fact that censorship is happening today. Maybe it’s a little bit of both.

Unfortunately, this trial has ended with a hung-jury (I think the judge was crooked).

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Victoria Black said, on September 22, 2009 at 12:48 am

    Very interesting…
    I guess it all depends on why you wear and when you wear it.
    Why should it matter if your t-shirt makes you look like a jerk… if didn’t put it on because you felt “jerkish” then you are not one.
    Either we wear something because society says ‘yay’ or because society says ‘nay’, no matter what we do for society.

    • Kaitlin said, on September 22, 2009 at 9:53 am

      great point! Although, I prob do feel “jerkish” sometimes. 😉

  2. Deannalay said, on September 22, 2009 at 12:55 am

    I think clothing and accessories are a great way to show support and get attention!
    You have an awesome blog. I love your witty and informative posts! Keep it up, girl!

    • Kaitlin said, on September 22, 2009 at 9:54 am

      Thanks for the compliment!


Leave a Reply

